Now

Image by Think Different

Austin, Texas here we come!

My partner in crime has officially accepted admission to UT’s Masters in Urban Design program – and so we will be packing all of our things, saying goodbye to Des Moines, Iowa (again), and heading South to Texas in only a few short months.  I have to say, I am really, really, really ready for this change…

Be here now.”

I don’t know who said that, but those words have been the little buzz in my ear for the past two years here in Des Moines.  Des Moines, as a city, fits me about as well as pair of size 0 designer jeans.  BUT…

I chose to live here.   Me.  I wasn’t dropped here by the time shift from Lost.  Nope, I was offered a job, and not just any job, a good job working for two amazingly talented attorneys in their private firm.  And when it was time to move on from that firm and I was ready to (finally!) leave Des Moines, I was offered another good job working for a pretty well-known non-profit here.  So I chose to stay…yet again.  But wait – when I was ready to leave job #2, I was once again offered a great job and committed to stay at least six months more.  Pretty amazing, right?

Three jobs in a row just placed at my feet by this city I live in…and I returned the favor by spitting on it and sending it off for execution like the spoiled “King” Joffrey in Game of Thrones.

Ok, so Des Moines and I really aren’t meant for each other long-term (there is frankly only so long that one can breathe in that pair of oh-so-tight, though rather cute jeans).  But wishing I were anywhere but here, now, hasn’t done me any good because I have missed those things that living in this city has brought to my life –

  • Cost of living – Even with my exorbitant student loan payments, we’ve been able to pay our rent, spend the occasional weekend in Chicago or Kansas City, and have a bit saved for our move to Texas.
  • Family – Yes, I’m from Iowa (although ask me when we oust another Supreme Court justice off of our bench, and I will vehemently deny all connection to this state…).  My parents live less than two hours from here, and we’re only 6 hours away from my “in-laws.”  Our parents are accessible without ever having to get on a plane…or have to go through ever-intrusive TSA checks.
  • It’s getting better – No, really.  It is.  Some cool bands come to Des Moines every once in a while.  My favorite salon has been ranked one of the top 200 salons in the country for the second year in a row.  And we actually have a sushi restaurant that wouldn’t make my Seattle relatives’ skin crawl.

And truth-be-told, being in the now – being grateful for what I have – feels good…which makes the time I have left here appear that much better.

Leave a Reply

