Finding Weird

“We are all a little weird and life’s a little weird, and when we find someone whose weirdness is compatible with ours, we join up with them and fall in mutual weirdness and call it love.”  – Dr. Seuss

I love Dr. Seuss – I mean, the man is brilliant.  He takes every part of life, takes all of the complicated social-isms out of them, and boils them down to simple truths.  And he has definitely gotten the whole love, relationships, friendships form down – I imagine it looking like a lumpier Yin and Yan.  But I digress…

Besides being by Dr. Seuss, this particular quote is exactly how I view friendships – like a scene from Notting Hill (Hugh Grant, Julia Roberts…great movie).  A group of totally unique people who love each other not in spite of their differences but because of them.  What I wouldn’t give for a “fruitarian” friend with pink hair, or a slightly disconnected Welshman.

And I firmly believe that it’s possible to find said group of quirky misfits to routinely associate myself with – I had just such a group of friends in law school.  We all made the mistake of sitting in the corner of our first class, not realizing that we’d have those same seats every day of that class for the entire semester.  “The Spot” study group (affectionately named after this set of seats we claimed each and every day) was made up of a Christian conservative young father of one (which became four by the end of law school), a Canadian guy with a great sense of humor who always pressed his jeans, the “social chair” event organizer friends with everyone girl, a 30-year-old former Lacrosse player with a Masters in Geology, and me…the one they called Elle Woods because my dog likes wearing clothing (yes, he actually likes it).  A completely mis-matched bunch, but heaven help the poor soul who tried to break into our exclusive clan.

We graduated and we moved away, and now I find myself comparing all “friends” to the true friends I had in law school.  So much so that I pretty often snub my nose at my current acquaintances and, rather than hanging out with them, I choose to stay home most of the time with my dog…lamenting the lack of Dr. Seuss’s weirdness in my life.  Ironic, right?  

But no more! We are moving to the city whose slogan is “Keep Austin Weird.”  If there was ever a city that holds the potential for the amazing group of loveable characters that Julia Roberts’s character and I both envy, it would be Austin.  However, as accurate as my assumption may be, the city is only half the battle – the other half being me, getting off my couch, grabbing the hoodie-wearing dog (ok, maybe Austin will be too hot for the sweatshirt), and venturing out into said city in search of the friends of a lifetime.

It means saying yes, when I would usually say no.  It means getting involved in my new community, inviting people over for drinks and dinner, being outside, and being willing to take a chance on a “hmmm…maybe” in case they turn out to be a “you’re singing my song” kind of friend.

Leave a Reply

