The Before

20120910-182023.jpg

Home.

When I was 8, I created Tunaland – an entire world dedicated to my cats, and my friends cats, and the cats I invented that would be the antagonists of all of the real cats I knew and liked.  It was an island the shape of a fish, because hey, cats like fish right?  The eye was a lake and the fin (because I drew it from only one side) was a moat around the castle where my cat, Granny Moo (yes, that really was her name), reigned as queen of Tunaland.  I drew it out on graph paper, and when I finished the land, I drew out floor plans for the castle and all of the other houses – litter boxes and all.

Eventually designing cat houses gave way to designing my own, dream house.  I love mid-century modern design.  I pour over Apartment Therapy like most women my age pour over the Nordstom half-yearly sale.  I know that my favorite TV heroine – Bones – has a Noguchi coffee table in her living room.  Dating, now living with, an architect who designs and builds modern furniture has definitely “created a mod-nster.”  (badum-bum…)  So here are the before, because there will definitely be an “after,” photos of our little Austin bungalow.

20120910-181605.jpg

From the Entryway

20120910-181556.jpg

From the Dining Room

Right before we moved, an architect friend and his partner had a yard sale in preparation for remodeling their kitchen/dining room.  The two Eames molded plywood chairs in the living room are originals from the 1950s.  Only fitting that they share space with another original – the 4-Drawer Coffee Table by none other than my boyfriend, JP.  (Note – No, there are no dead rodents in my house – those are dog toys, and my house is covered with them :))

20120910-181519.jpg

Dining Room/Breakfast Nook

JP and I have been a lot of places together – Liberia, France, Chicago, New York, Washington State, and many more.  Our wall of photos chronicles our travels, and there are a few empty frames that we hung to remind us we have more traveling yet to do.

20120910-181542.jpg

Kitchen

20120910-181549.jpg

More kitchen..

Lighting aside, our kitchen is 1950s-adorable.  It has great bones, and the owners’ grey/white paint job just adds to that vintage-modern feel that I get weak-kneed for.

20120910-181453.jpg

Bathroom

Speaking of grey, the color palate of the architect – black, white, grey…and maybe  one acceptably retro color like…orange.  Thus, the grey, grey, and more grey throughout.  At least it’s better than that seafoam counter top (suggestions anyone?).  Yikes!

20120910-181503.jpg

Bedroom

JP’s grandfather was an artist and editorial cartoonist.  The charcoal drawing of a woman on our wall was his – from the mid-1940s after he had returned from World War II.  Just one more page in the story that is our home.

20120910-181511.jpg

Closet (my half)

No good bedroom would be complete without a well-organized closet.  At least no bedroom occupied by an anal-retentive, attorney-type (moi?).  If I go missing, look first in the IKEA organization department 🙂

2 thoughts on “The Before

  1. I love the collection of travel photos in the kitchen. I’m sure it’s a great conversation with guests @ dinner parties. The kitchen is amazing. Nice place

Leave a Reply

