Contigo Austin

“Hello … Customer,

Due to scheduling conflicts, the K’Naan w/City of the Sun show at The Beauty Ballroom on 10/26 has been canceled. A full refund will be issued to the purchase credit/debit card on file with your order. Please allow 2-3 business days for this credit to appear on your account…”

I received this email one week before the concert, which co-incidentally was one week before I turned the big thirty-two. This concert was supposed to be my way to ring in my birthday in Austin…dancing to some amazing music, being reminded of Africa, spending a non-work/non-study night with my partner in crime. But no – it was not to be.

Instead, I did something I haven’t done in years – I invited two groups of ladies who didn’t know each other to have brunch with me at Contigo Austin. Best. Decision. Ever.

So let me tell you a little bit about Contigo. It just so happens to be 4 minutes away from my house (according to the trusty map on my phone) in East Austin. There is a ton of parking which, in this town, is quite amazing (flash to Anna, driving around downtown for 45 minutes looking for a place to park for a happy hour meeting that she never ended up making it to). Huge relief. Plus, the restaurant itself is very well laid out – the ladies and I immediately thought it would be a great place for a small wedding, or other group event. There is a large, well-lit outside space (dog friendly!) with bench-style tables. Inside, the space is divided into a bar area and semi-indoor dining – open-air in the summer, and insulating drapes in the winter.

20121101-124454.jpg

Huevos

And the food… All I can say is greens with olive oil and salt – wow. My friend, Kristin, who is a food blogger, ordered the rabbit & dumplings and is still talking about how good it was a week later.

20121101-124502.jpg

Quiche

Turns out the only thing my birthday was actually missing was a bigger appetite 🙂

 

 

One thought on “Contigo Austin

Leave a Reply

