A MLK Day Walk

MLK at CornellThis morning I took a walk around my neighborhood.  It is the first time I’ve really walked here, just walked…without trying to get somewhere.  I took a moment to enjoy the area I live in – the adorable Austin bungalows, the gentleman who waved at me from his garage, the small park on the corner.

Today is Martin Luther King, Jr. Day in the United States.  The poster above is from my university and I belonged to the first women’s fraternity on that campus to de-segregate.  My walk today made me reflect on what the city would look like, or my life would be like, if Dr. King hadn’t lived…and lived the life he did.

I love to travel and explore, but I don’t often take the time to experience a bit of gratitude for all of the people who came before me who made the places I now enjoy what they are – the political figures, the artists, the workers, and many, many more.

 

Leave a Reply

