My New Dance Class

I’ve thought about this for a while, and there’s really no smooth way to put this, so here you go: I’m taking pole dancing classes. 

Now wait, before you start thinking Striptease, think instead: Cirque du Soleil.

saltimbanco1This is what I do (or should I say, attempt to do) several hours a week and even on the weekends.  It’s like taking the P90X Ab-Ripper workout and doing it while suspending your entire body weight by your arms on a vertical (not horizontal!) pole.  It is without a doubt the hardest workout I’ve ever had and, at the end of class, I feel like this:

When I was in Little Rock, I became winded after climbing up the steps to the State Capitol.  I’m only 32.  There is no reason I should be winded walking up stairs.  On my way home, I drove past this pole dancing/aerial studio.  The name was a bit odd (“Brass Ovaries“…really???), but when I took a look at their instructor bios I knew I had to try it – their instructors range from the first woman to complete special forces training who has hiked the Appalachian Trail to a stay-at-home-mom who used pole dancing as a way to love her body again.

I have tried just about every workout method under the sun – running, cycling, yoga, Pilates, traditional dance, P90X, personal training… – but this is by far the most complete workout I’ve ever had.  They say there are around 640 muscles in the human body, and I’m pretty certain (from the all-encompassing muscle burn) that I have engaged them all in the past week and a half.  I have bruises in the strangest places (armpit bruise?).  And I have worn off the top layer of skin on several parts of my feet.

But I love it and I can’t wait until my next class.  And maybe sometime soon, all the pain will pay off and I’ll be able to do this:

Leave a Reply

