My Heart Belongs to India

The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel.  Less than 5 minutes into the movie and I was back in India, stepping out of the quiet Chennai airport in the middle of the night, into the chaotic “assault on the senses” that wouldn’t even occur in NYC past midnight.  It’s like looking directly into the sunlight – you can still see all of the brightness even after you close your eyes.

I went to India in January of 2008 with my dad, who is a seasoned India visitor.  I will admit, it was too much for me at first – I got very, very sick and wanted to go home.  But then India spoke to me and it said just what Sonny says in the movie, “Everything will get better in the end.  If it is not better, then it is not yet the end.”

In other words, the bumps in the road can make for a fun ride if you only toss your head back, smile, and go with it…

India changed me.  It left a permanent mark on my heart and I can’t wait until the next opportunity to go back; I can’t wait for the next thing that India will have to show me.  Here are a few photos of my time in one of my most favorite places on the planet:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Dad and I

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Hand-mowing the yard

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The blur of color as we drove down the street

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Street vendors

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Rule of India travel – There is always room for one more person

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Children running after the bus…with their monkey!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

A walk at sunset

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Dad

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Brahma cows – It is hard to describe just how silky beautiful they are

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Hand-made canal at sunset

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Color even in nature

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Such an amazing building…built with amazingly scary-looking scaffolding

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The river behind where we stayed

 

One thought on “My Heart Belongs to India

Leave a Reply

