What if Money was No Object?

Soooo…I had this great post I planned on writing about my time in the Seattle area this month.  But, as my dad often says, “man plans and God laughs.”  And in this case, the “laughter,” if you will, came in the form of this video I saw posted on a blog

Now I can’t stop thinking about that question – What if money really was no object?  Would I do anything differently?  Would I pull an Eat, Pray, Love and explore the globe to find myself?  Would I quit my job and pursue my newly-discovered love of pole dance fitness full time?  Would I change anything about my current life?

I have been stewing over that darned question for a while – it’s not as easy as it sounds to imagine an existence where money wasn’t any object.  At all.  Not one bit.  Because it’s not just the money earned by choosing to pursue one avenue over another, the choice to pursue an unpaid or low-paid position over a high-paid one; it is also the money that it costs to completely change gears.

I suppose maybe I’m blessed a bit because money isn’t a gigantic issue for me, for us.  We make just enough to get by and enjoy the career paths we have chosen enough to make the salaries we have (or, in Josh’s pre-graduate school case, had) worth the jobs that we do.  So money is a factor in our lives, but money doesn’t force us to choose a miserable job over a fun one.  

So, what would I do if the money consideration didn’t just exist in the background but actually went away altogether?  I would teach.  I love my current job and I love the people I work with, and if that is where I end up for the foreseeable future, I will be happy.  But if I didn’t have to worry at all, ever about money, I would leave my current job and throw myself 100% into finding a position teaching legal research and writing at a law school somewhere fantastic.  I would spend my holidays and academic leave time to travel overseas and teach legal writing to attorneys and judges working to build or rebuild their countries’ judicial systems.  I would continue this blog, and eventually take a life-coaching course to learn more about listening, because listening is key to educating and facilitating learning.  And I would keep dancing on the side…for fun.

If money was no object, what would you do?

4 thoughts on “What if Money was No Object?

  1. It is a question I ask myself; I would work as a health educator in the community, take baking/cooking classes to have a small bakery (in honor of my grandmothers), do yoga and learn letter/printing press to make my own card line. Right now, money is a bit of concern yet I strive to do the best with the income I make.

    • I think your approach is absolutely right- and that’s the best we all can do. Eliminating the money issue allows us to freely dream and set goals, and then we do the best we can to get a bit closer to living those dreams 🙂

  2. This was a really great post and interesting question to ponder! Hmmm…life coaching, that sounds interesting! For me, money isnt as much the issue as much as courage is. I have always been told from the second I decided I wanted to work in the Environmental field as an Educator and Advocate, that NO ONE joins our field to get paid big bucks lol! And that is fine with me because I LOVE the field. However, if fear of failure was no object, then I would totally go for a career in acting lol! I enjoy entertaining people and making them laugh so much that I think I’d really enjoy that career.

    • I love this comment! Even if you remove money from the picture, actually putting yourself out there to follow your passion is super scary. Maybe the question I really should have asked is: what if fear was not object? Fear of failure, fear of not having enough money, or any other fear keeping you back from pursuing your passion 🙂
      Thank you!

Leave a Reply

