Boston Love

I Love Boston - XAs an attorney, I often think that I see a fair amount of the most negative aspects of humanity.  But yesterday afternoon, my attempt to take a quick break from that negativity backfired, and instead I sat in horrified surprise watching images of the Boston Marathon bombing fill my computer screen.

Soon the shock was replaced with anger and a long series of expletives spewed out into my empty home-office.  One part of me wanted to push the chair back away from my desk, pack a bag, and fly away to a country where this type of surprise doesn’t exist.  The other part wanted to dig in and “fix it” – How did this happen?  How can we prevent this in the future?  Is it policy, health, money, education?  How can we make sure nobody ever has to go through something like this again?  How……..?

And then I went to Facebook and was brought to tears by what I saw there – love and gratitude.  Messages sent out to Bostonians and marathoners sending love and prayers.  Messages sent back with thanks and love for everyone’s concern and thoughts.

My Facebook news feed was alive with the absolute best part of being human – our capacity to love.  Hours later, the posts are still flowing – reminders to hug those we love; unending gratitude for the police, firemen, EMTs, medical professionals who stepped up without question; the many runners who, after running for miles, went to the hospitals to donate blood; and so many more stories of…love.

I was reminded of this quote from Love Actually and wanted to share it again for you all today…

With love,

-Anna

“Whenever I get gloomy with the state of the world, I think about the arrivals gate at Heathrow Airport. General opinion’s starting to make out that we live in a world of hatred and greed, but I don’t see that. It seems to me that love is everywhere. Often its not particularly dignified or newsworthy, but it’s always there – fathers and sons, mothers and daughters, husbands and wives, boyfriends, girlfriends, old friends.

When the plans hit the Twin Towers, as far as I know, none of the phone calls from the people on board were message of hate or revenge – they were all messages of love. If you look for it, I’ve got a sneaking suspicion…love actually is…all around.” – Love Actually

Leave a Reply

