Goin’ to Kansas City, Kansas City Here I Come

Kansas-City-Missouri-Downtown_at_Twighlight

So I realize in my last post, I said that my theme for 2014 was getting back to basics and enjoying what I already have.  Well…we’re moving to Kansas City at the end of the month.

I love Austin.  We love Austin.  This past year and a half in Austin, despite my own personal challenges, has been one of the best living experiences of my life thus far.  The catch – the cost of living in Austin is very, very high.  Not New York or San Francisco high, but getting dangerously close to the latter.  And being able to enjoy what we have means being able to afford where we live.

We looked at several places to move, but KC is close to Josh’s family, my family, THE Kansas Jayhawks men’s basketball team, my favorite stylist, and several work connections for Josh.  It really ended up being the perfect place for us to move and live while we’re waiting for the results of Josh’s professor applications.   Plus, Kansas City is the home of Oklahoma Joe’s BBQ (yummmmm!).

Even with the cost of moving, we’ll be paying half the rent we’re paying in Austin; save on travel costs to visit family; watch Jayhawks games in person; and pretty much be able to live off of my salary until Josh finds a job…albeit while freezing our behinds off in the winter weather.

Just the break we need before moving onto our next (and hopefully final…for a long while) physical and career move 😉

Leave a Reply

